BT

As part of moving from Virgin Media to Sky+we had to re-activate the BT line so that we could cancel the Virgin phone line. I phoned BT and arranged everything which appeared to go smoothly, we were told it would cost £124.99 to install, which I thought was a bit steep – but since I couldn’t find a BT box anywhere I guessed we had to bite the bullet and go ahead. A week later I received a phone call from BT saying that an engineer wasn’t required, so we wouldn’t have to pay the £124.99, which was good. A few days later we received another call, this time from abroad, reiterating the fact an engineer wasn’t required. However, we later received a letter saying an engineer was calling on the day originally agreed on the first phone call. My wife booked the afternoon off to be in when the engineer called.

On the day the engineer was supposed to call, I returned home from work to find the engineer had neither visited, or phoned to say they had done anything! Looking online at BT, the bill viewer stated that we were still going to be charged the £124.99. One email and a quick call from BT confirmed an engineer wasn’t required and the line was activated at the exchange, we were also being refunded the £124.99! I’m a little annoyed that I had to complain to get the charge for non-existing work to be refunded though. I wonder how many people have paid this when they don’t have to?

This entry was posted in BT, rant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BT

  1. stymaster says:

    BT are the most incompetent shower of bastards you will ever find, trust me. They do have some good staff, but lots of oxygen thieves too.

  2. John says:

    Ringing abroad I had a bad experience, but when BT phoned me after I complained it was much better. From the person’s accent he sounded like ringing from a call centre in Scotland; he was a lot more helpful than the foreign chap.
    It’s a pity most business’s think they can improve things by moving their call centre’s abroad. While this may save them money in the short term, it decreases customer satisfaction in the long term and can even drive customers away.

  3. stymaster says:

    Amazing isn’t it. I don’t bother with foreign call centres that can’t apeak/understand English anymore. I had the misfortune of having to ring BT at work the other day. When it was a foreign call centre, I called the account manager instead. Life’s too short.

Leave a Reply

