Orange and number porting

This Wed I enter into the last month of my Orange contract. I’ve been with Orange for quite a few years but the time has come to find another provider. I’ve found that Orange’s customer service has deteriorated over the years and their call packages are no longer competitive which is why I’m off.

I’ve found a new provider I want to move to I’ve decided to keep my number so I have to ask Orange for a PAC. Previously Orange used to SMS you the PAC within two days while also sending you a letter with the code in. The industry norm is anywhere from three to five days. Ofcom have been consulting to get this down to two days max from 1 April 2008, so what do Orange do? They stop giving out the code over the phone or by TXT, great.

So the plan is to ring first thing on Wed to ask for the PAC, ask if they’ll TXT it, which I doubt they will. Hopefully the PAC will arrive by letter by Sat so that I take the code to the mobile store and upgrade from my Samsung D830 to the Nokia N95 8Gb that I’ve had my eye on since its been out.

This entry was posted in rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange and number porting

  1. Stu says:

    This is one of those things I just don’t understand… I bought my second phone about a year ago after I repaired my first ever phone two or three times.

    I’ve been with the same provider the whole time too.

    I’m probably paying above the odds – hopefully only slightly – but I have the benefit of never suffering any phone-related stress! 🙂

    I think there are probably two types of people… the cutting-edge upgraders, and the people who don’t give a damn about their phone as long as they can phone/txt people!

    To be fair though… a colleague did pick up my perfectly functional PDA from my desk the other day and say “That’s an interesting piece of history”. Oops… I still thought it was most up to date!

  2. John says:

    I’m afraid I’m an upgrader, I had a 6680 smart phone and 18 months ago and when that contract ended decided to get “just a phone” and got the Samsung D830. I regret leaving Nokia. Now that I’m coming to the end of my current 18 month contract I now want another smart phone and will be getting the Nokia N95 8Gb.

Leave a Reply

