Web becoming less disability aware?

Deb Shinder wrote a quick article regarding her experience of registering with a web site. In particular she wrote about the anti-automaton measures used to stop spam bots etc registering instead of humans, I myself have had similar problems where I’ve misread the garbled text.

Now I know I haven’t got perfect vision being bespecticled but I can see quite well when I’m wearing glasses and I know from tests that my colour vision pretty good, but what if your eyesight isn’t up to scratch? I’ve seen a few sights that have an audio option where you type in what is read to you, but again, if you’re deaf and have poor eyesight, what then?

I haven’t got the answer to the problem of preventing spam bots from registering while allowing both able and disabled to register freely. There must be some solution out there though?

This entry was posted in rambling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

